Wednesday, September 29, 2010

Rain, rain go away!

Honestly, I knew it rained a lot in the UK, but this is a bit much! Out of the near two weeks I've been in Aberdeen, it's rained at least 50% of the time. I guess I'll just have to break in my wellies, then.

Today, I trekked across Seaton Park to the main campus for the Surf Club swim test. I'm so annoyed, LOL. It takes like 30 minutes to get to the pool, and it was in the cold windy rain; got there, got in the pool to swim 50m (two laps) and tread water for a minute. That's it! I did all that God awful walking in the rain for two laps and a minute of treading water. How is that supposed to judge our swimming ability? There's a big difference between that and a wavy ocean! Alas, my lifeguard knowledge is rearing its head once again.

So I had to drop Religious Studies because of the clash, but my flatmate, Amy, said it sucked anyway, so I'm not too bothered. Now I'm taking Psyche, and I really liked the professor. I think he's Canadian. I also loved my Archeology lecture, all the professors seem really enthusiastic. However, my history course on Vikings was awful. Amy and I had it together, and we couldn't get over how bad the professor was. She was boring, spoke with a monotone, and totally geeky! It was painful. And I'd been so excited about that course.

Now I'm curled up in bed, because it's cold and rainy, and now I'm in warm dry clothing. It's great. I watched Dodgeball with Amy last night, and I'd totally forgotten how much I love that movie. It's hilarious! So I'll end with a quote from it:

"No one makes me bleed my own blood!"

Monday, September 27, 2010

Lectures?

So I have my first day of lectures today. I'm missing a religious studies one since it's at the same time as Archeology, but since one of my flatmates is going to religion, I'm just going to get the notes from her. I also have a history one super late (5-6pm!), and I'm not looking forward to walking back in the dark. Obviously, I'm not going through Seaton Park!

I'm so nervous I'm not even hungry, bleh. I really should have some left over soup for lunch, but I really can't stomach it in my current state. I'll just eat when I come back? Yeah, that sounds like a plan.

There's a Rock Gospel rehearsal tonight. But my voice is shit right now, I'm losing it. But I'd really like to join, so I think I'll go. It's about an hour after my last lecture, so I'm not quite sure how I'll pass my time until then, but I will. Walking back to Hillhead is going to be even scarier at nine, though. LOL. I'll just avoid the park.

I watched Pride and Prejudice last night, the newer one. I love it. My favorite scene is the one in the rain when he first confesses to her, and she rejects him. It's SO DRAMATIC! I love it. Right up my alley. I didn't even get emo after watching it! That's the first romantic movie I've managed to watch and not get sad, since I left the US. I'm making progress here! Hurrah!!!

I need to get dressed. I think I'm going to go into campus early, and see if I can finally get my timetable sorted!

Bye bye!

Sunday, September 26, 2010

TGIS - Update

Well, I'm going to try and go to bed soon. I'm so lame. It's 9pm. But I have classes tomorrow, and I really need to go get my timetable sorted. Apparently Aberdeen University likes to shut down on Sundays (useless!), so I couldn't get that sorted out.

I did manage to get my sexy dress AND a pair of hot heels at Primark. Yay for cheap clothes! Here's to hoping they last the winter.

Now I'm listening to depressing Lady Gaga songs, and wondering about my first lectures tomorrow. I have Archeology and Foundations of European Culture (I think), but they're like... five hours apart. I'll try to sign up for the gym so I can do something with my life while I wait. There's that, and I seriously need to work out. I've been eating really well recently, I made lots of smoothies and KILLER homemade soup today. Seriously, the soup was banging. BANGING!

I'm going to sign up for the gym now. BYE!

TGIS

Thank God it's Sunday.

Wow. That sounds extremely religious, now that I think about it. Didn't mean it to be. Regardless, after the madness that consisted of Fresher's Week, I'm glad to finally sit down and just breathe. There should be a lot less partying and craziness now that our week of pointless nothingness is over. That, and we already spent all our money on booze, so we really can't afford to go out and party in town.

I've been rather emo as of late, maybe it's part of the whole "homesickness" issue. Granted, I do miss home. But there's not much I can do, I can't exactly hop on a plane and fly across the Atlantic Ocean whenever I want. (Trust me, if I could, I totally would all the time.) I'm just going to have to wait for teleportation to get invented. And there's just the whole 'being on a break' with my ex/boyfriend. What does a 'break' even mean? Could someone enlighten me, please? Whatever. I'm quite sure he hates me now, so I'm just going to have to get over it and find some other diversion.

Like surf club. Yes, you're probably wondering: Surfing in northern Scotland?! ARE YOU CRAZY? Yeah, I am a little, to be honest. With wetsuits and all the gear the club provides, I'll be fine. Pfft. Freezing waters in the middle of the cold Scottish winter? NO BIGGIE! After that, I'll never be cold ever again. I'll come home to Connecticut, and be like: -3 degrees Celsius? Pfft! I'm wearing a t-shirt!

Now I'm listening to three of my flatmates' music. One is playing weird Spanish screamo; another Eminem; and the third, Madonna. It's very disorienting to hear them all at once.

Right, I need to go to the campus to get my timetable sorted, and go buy a sexy dress. Again: I need to focus my attention elsewhere, I'm in COLLEGE baby! I can't afford to be miserable!

Ciao!